David Payne wins rain-shortened Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals showdown at Tri-County race track

(BRASSTOWN, NC) David Payne of Murphy, NC emerged victorious Thursday night in a rain-shortened Schaeffer’s Oil Southern National Series show at Ray Cook’s Tri-County Race Track! David, who has won numerous special events and track titles during his career at the nearby arenas in Brasstown, North Carolina, posted the second fastest lap of the Memory Lane Classic Car Museum as he qualified to win the outside the first row for the 53 lap function. an event. As bad weather rolled into the area, David jumped ahead of the 22-car field on the first circuit and was at the point where heavy rain battered the facility during a cautionary period after just 27 laps.

With the deluge the series and track staff had no choice but to call the race official as he had reached the halfway point and Payne was declared the winner of the 7,553 prize. $ for first place. Finishing behind his No. 8 machine was a top five that included runner-up and winner of the last two races in the series Brandon Overton, fast qualifier and poleman Payton Freeman, seventh starter Wil Herrington and Iowa invader Davenport Spencer Dierks.

A total of four yellow flags flew over the pitch during the shortened race before rain halted the action. The original start of the contest was called back before a second lap nine warning flag was waved for a slowing Jensen Ford. A multi-car incident then took place on the following restart before Joe Denby ran into the wall at turn four on lap 28. As track staff removed Denby’s #27 mount from the racing surface, the skies opened and the event was deemed official.

David’s third career triumph in Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals series came aboard a Capital race car powered by a Jay Dickens race engine. Sponsorship of his Gibson Motorsports race comes in part from Payne Excavating, Interstate Welding, PPM Racing Products, American Racer Tire, Base Racing Fuel and Schaeffer’s Oil.

A field of 22 Super Late Model competitors converged on the track considered the “Tiger Pit” tonight for the $7,553 to win the showdown. With the unstable weather in the region, the time trials only defined the starting grid for the scheduled 53 laps. Payton Freeman of Commerce, Georgia won the $150 Memory Lane Classic Car Museum bonus for setting the fastest lap overall in qualifying with his fastest time of 12.294 seconds.

The penultimate event of the 2022 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals series will now take center stage on Friday night, July 29 at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Georgia. A salary of $10,053 is up for grabs tomorrow night at the Chattanooga-area oval. Previous tour winners at Boyd’s Speedway include: Randy Weaver (’14), Casey Roberts (’15), David Payne (’16), Brandon Overton (’17), Vic Hill (’18) and Sam Seawright (‘ 21) . Learn more about this race by clicking on www.BoydsSpeedway.com.

Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels

Round 10 Race Summary

Thursday, July 28, 2022

Tri-County Race Track (Brasstown, North Carolina)

Schaeffer’s Oil Finish (53 laps – Shortened Rain to 27 laps):

  1. (2) David Payne $7,553
  2. (4) Brandon Overton $3,000
  3. (1) Payton Freeman $2,000
  4. (7) Wil Herrington $1,500
  5. (3) Spencer Diercks $1,000
  6. (6) Cook Dalton $800
  7. (5) Kenny Collins $700
  8. (8) John Henderson $600
  9. (10) Dakotah Knuckles $575
  10. (19) Will Roland $550
  11. (9) Jamie Oliver $530
  12. (12) Cory Hedgecock $520
  13. (21) Danny Ledford $510
  14. (13) Jensen Ford $500
  15. (18) Parker Martin $490
  16. (22) Tucker Anderson $480
  17. (11) Brenden Smith $470
  18. (16) Joe Denby $460
  19. (17) Ryan Wilson $450
  20. (14) Galen Robinson $450
  21. (15) Shawn Chastain $450
  22. (20) Drew Deaver $450

Entries: 22

Lap Leaders: David Payne (Laps 1-27)

Warnings: 4 (initial start called back, Jensen Ford slows on lap 9, multi-car tangle on restart on lap 9 and Joe Denby in the wall on lap 28 before the rain hits)

Memory Lane Classic Car Museum Time Trials:

Best overall time: Payton Freeman 12.294

Schaeffer’s current Oil Southern Nationals Series points standings:

  1. Cory Hedgecock – 1494
  2. Will Roland [R] – 1482
  3. Kenny Collins – 1440
  4. Jensen Ford – 1434
  5. John Henderson – 1384
  6. Dalton Cook [R] – 1372
  7. Parker-Martin [R] – 1366
  8. Brenden Smith [R] – 1364
  9. Carson Ferguson – 1256
  10. Zack Mitchell – 928

2022 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Schedule:

Friday July 15 | Beckley Motor Speedway, Mount Hope, West Virginia | CORY HERIS

Saturday July 16 | Wythe Raceway, Rural Retreat, VA | DALE MCDOWELL

Sunday July 17 | Volunteer Speedway, Bulls Gap, TN | DALE MCDOWELL

Tuesday July 19 | I-75 Raceway, Sweetwater, TN | CORY HERIS

Thursday July 21 | Senoia Raceway, Senoia, Georgia | CARSON FERGUSON

Friday July 22 | East AL Motor Speedway, Phenix City, AL | HAS MORE

Saturday July 23 | Screven Motor Speedway, Sylvania, Georgia | BRANDON-OVERTON

Sunday July 24 | Swainsboro Raceway, Swainsboro, Georgia | HAS MORE

Tuesday July 26 | Toccoa Raceway, Toccoa, Georgia | BRANDON-OVERTON

Thursday July 28 | Tri-County Race Track, Brasstown, North Carolina | DAVID PAYNE

Friday July 29 | Boyd’s Speedway, Ringgold, Georgia | $10,053 to be won

Saturday July 30 | Tazewell Motor Speedway, Tazewell, TN | $10,053 to be won

* All races will be streamed live on FloRacing

For more information on Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels, please direct your Internet browser to www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com or feel free to call series promoter Ray Cook at 828-360-5353. You can also follow us on social media platforms at facebook.com/southernnationalsseries and on Twitter @sonationals.

The Southern Nationals Series would like to thank all of our 2022 Marketing Partners including: Schaeffer’s Oil & Specialized Lubricants, Sunoco Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Delph Communications, EZ-GO, Dirt Draft, Memory Lane Classic Car Museum, Arizona Sport Shirts, Capital Race Cars, Collins Signs, DirtonDirt.com, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, MasterSbilt Race Cars, Wiles Driveshafts, Vic Hill Racing Engines, The Steering Buddy, The Joie of Seating and DirtCarLift.com.

About Schaeffer Specialty Oil and Lubricants:

Schaeffer Specialty Lubricants: Synthetic motor oils, hydraulic fluids and diesel fuel additives have earned a world-class reputation for improving engine performance and fuel economy, but their diverse product line also includes all types of industrial lubricants, industrial greases and industrial oils. as specialty items such as their chain lubricants and degreasers. Founded in 1839, their philosophy is to provide advanced lubricants to improve performance, reliability and fuel economy. Learn more or find a representative near you at www.SchaefferOil.com.

Media contact: Ryan Delph – Delph Communications


Comments are closed.